True Lies: Ryan Braun and Alex Rodriguez

https://i2.wp.com/media.zenfs.com/en/blogs/sptusmlbexperts/braun072213.jpg

The Biogenesis suspensions have finally come down. Starting with superstar Ryan Braun. MLB has suspended Braun for the rest of the 2013 season (65 games). Now if you recall Braun has been denying his steroid use for the past two years, claiming he was clean and he never used steroids.  In October of 2011 Braun urine sample had a extremely elevated level of testosterone. That month he won the NL MVP award over Matt Kemp. But Braun challenged that ruling during the 2011 winter, and Braun name was cleared of any wrong doing. Due to the belief that the medication he was taking made him test positive. Plus urine collector didn’t take the urine sample straight to the lab as well helping Braun build a strong case. He then took a second test then passed it. Once his name was cleared Braun released a statement saying “We provided complete cooperation throughout, despite the highly unusual circumstances. I have been an open book, willing to share details from every aspect of my life as part of this investigation, because I have nothing to hide. I have passed over 25 drug tests in my career, including at least three in the past yea”.

Then over the winter the Biogenesis report came out listing his name along with Alex Rodriguez and many other major league baseball players accusing them of taking PED’s. Braun once again denied it  stating “I have nothing to hide and have never had any other relationship with Bosch,” Braun said, according to Yahoo Sports. “I will fully cooperate with any inquiry into this matter.”  Now yesterday comes around and Braun was suspended, and shockingly Braun didn’t appeal the 65 game suspension instead he released a statement saying “As I have acknowledged in the past, I am not perfect,” Braun said in a statement. “I realize now that I have made some mistakes. I am willing to accept the consequences of those actions. This situation has taken a toll on me and my entire family, and it has been a distraction to my teammates and the Brewers organization. I am very grateful for the support I have received from players, ownership and the fans in Milwaukee and around the country. “Finally, I wish to apologize to anyone I may have disappointed — all of the baseball fans especially those in Milwaukee, the great Brewers organization, and my teammates. I am glad to have this matter behind me once and for all, and I cannot wait to get back to the game I love.”

This is coming from a man that denied taking steroids for two years already, and now he comes out and says that I made some mistakes? He didn’t even own up to taking steroids as well and let’s not forget about how he tried to cheat the system. His strong denial in not taking steroids then coming out and admitting it reminded me of Rafael Palmeiro when he met with Congress. Both strongly denied steroid use but when they had strong proof on them they couldn’t deny much longer. Braun in my eyes now looks like a liar, because I really took him for his word and thought he was clean. I didn’t suspect him to be another superstar taking steroids, and trying to cheat the system. Braun also made everyone defending him look stupid. MLB was nice to Braun because they gave him a plea deal and let him serve a light 65 game suspension for something he’s been lying about for two years. I felt they could of suspended him well into the middle part of next year. If I was Brauns teammates it would be hard for me to respect him for due to all the denying, and lying he’s done the last two years. An I don’t understand why people are applauding Braun for coming out and accepting the suspension when he didn’t even admit to taking steroids and  didn’t apologize for lying this long. MLB must make it a tougher penalty for taking steroids so players will be scared to take them. Braun will now lose 3.4million in salary for the rest of the year. Brauns a great player, and  I just hate to see great players take steroids, and on top of that don’t own up to their wrong doing. Braun will still remain one of my favorite players to watch, but he really can’t be trusted if he has another great year because people will always question if he’s clean and playing the game the right way. The next shoe to fall is Alex Rodriguez. There have been reports that MLB will try to ban A-Rod for life.

The truth is, A-Rod cheated the Yankees organization, and everyone else. I don’t think he’s ever been clean he can make up all the excuses about him first taking it when he first signed with the Rangers and stated he felt a lot of pressure due to the contract he signed. I think A-Rod should be suspended for the rest of this year and all of next year. MLB should also allow the Yankees to get out of that awful contract which is in the 6th year of a 10 year 275million deal. A-Rod will always be a cheater in my eyes. I’m glad MLB is taking strides to keep the game clean, but I feel like they should be stricter when you first test positive. First time offenders should be suspended for a whole year, and second time you get caught you should be banned from baseball for life. Can’t be cutting plea deals with cheaters will not make them understand cheating is not allowed. Any hopes of A-Rod being a hall of famer should be washed away now. This has been dark cloud over baseball all year and it’s about time MLB is moving forward to getting back on the right track.

http://assets.nydailynews.com/polopoly_fs/1.418254!/img/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_635/alg-yankees-alex-rodriguez-jpg.jpg

Leave a Reply

